Robotland Bookstore

Saturday, February 12, 2011

Engelberger Robotics Award 2011 Winners

The Engelberger Robotics Award, the industry’s highest honor, will be presented to Åke Lindqvist and Henrik Christensen during a special dinner ceremony on Tuesday, March 22 at the InterContintental Hotel in Chicago during Automate 2011/42nd International Symposium on Robotics.

Åke Lindqvist wins the 2011 Engelberger Award for Leadership.  Lindqvist spent 37 years in the industry until his recent retirement from ABB Robotics (formerly ASEA).  During his career at ABB he held several senior positions at the ABB Robotics headquarters in Sweden and North America, and most recently as Vice President and member of the ABB Robotics Products Global Management Team as head of Automotive Global Product Sales. Åke Lindqvist is also president of the International Federation of Robotics (IFR). 

Henrik Christensen wins the 2011 Engelberger Award for Education.  Christensen is currently the KUKA Chair of Robotics and a Professor of Computing with the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta.  He also serves as the Director of the Center for Robotics and Intelligent Machines. He is well known globally for his roles as the Founding Chair of the European Robotics Research Network (EURON) and for being the driving force behind the recent Roadmap for US Robotics.
Academic profile 1988-2010:
Publications: 206  |  Citations: 1422  |  G-Index: 27  |  H-Index: 19.
Interest: Artificial Intelligence, Computer Vision, Machine Learning & Pattern Recognition. Collaborated with  193 co-authors, from 1988 to 2010

The awards, sponsored by Robotic Industries Association (RIA), the industry’s trade group, are named after Joseph F. Engelberger, known throughout the world as “the father of robotics.”  Each recipient will be presented a commemorative medallion and a $5000 honorarium by RIA.  Launched in 1977, 113 industry leaders from 16 nations have now been selected for this honor.

No comments: