Robotland Bookstore

Monday, January 10, 2011

The 2010 Robotics Award Winners

Joseph F. Engelberger Award 
The 2010 Engelberger Robotics Award was presented to Heinz-Dieter Schunk, Schunk GmbH and Scott W. Deming Corning Inc. during the 41st International Symposium on Robotics held here in conjunction with AUTOMATICA. 
The Engelberger Robotics Award is the world's most prestigious robotics honor. The awards are presented to individuals for excellence in technology development, application, education, and leadership in the robotics industry.

IEEE RAS Award winners 2010 
Associate Professor Yu Sun, Advanced Micro and Nanosystems Lab, Dept. of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, University of Toronto, received the 2010 IEEE Robotics & Automation Society Early Career Award "for contributions to enabling microrobotic and MEMS technologies for automated cell manipulation and characterization in cell biology and clinical applications".

Dr. Leandro Barajas
received the 2010 IEEE Robotics & Automation Society Early Career Award for "pioneering the use of diagnostics and prognostics research in large-scale industrial robotics and automation applications." Leandro G. Barajas is Staff Researcher, Advanced Robotics Group Manufacturing Systems Research Laboratory General Motors R&D Center. 

The 2010 Georges Giralt PhD Award

Ludovic Righetti from EPFL received the 2010 Georges Giralt PhD Award for his thesis entitled "Control of Legged Locomotion using Dynamical Systems: Design Methods and Adaptive Frequency Oscillators." 

Robot of the Year 2010 (Japan)

The METI Grand Prize Award 2010 for industrial robots was received by Toyota Motor CorporationOchiai Nekus Inc. Nagoya Institute of Technology and Tokyo Metropolitan University for its low power 80W energy-saving comfortable robot  installed at the Toyota car assembly plant working safely in cooperation with people.
More info.

No comments: